Finding Your Dream Career

I’m a sucker for worksheets and books that help to identify your dreams and passions. It’s part of the “keep it simple stupid” mind set that we so often overlook in a complicated world full of choices. 

I found this great post on The Daily Muse: 9 Questions That’ll Help You Find Your Dream Career. Breaking the big question of “what do you want to do with your life?” into smaller questions is a productive way to start identifying where to start planning for a change. 

Fill in the blanks in the sentences:

  1. If I could choose one friend to trade jobs with, I’d choose ____________, because ____________.
  2. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to do ____________. It’s interesting to me because ____________.
  3. If I had the right education or skill set, I’d definitely try ____________, because ____________.
  4. If I had to go back to school tomorrow, I’d major in ____________, because ____________.
  5. My co-workers and friends always say I’m great at ____________, because ____________.
  6. The thing I love most about my current job is ____________, because ____________.
  7. If my boss would let me, I’d do more of ____________, because ____________.
  8. If I had a free Saturday that had to be spent “working” on something, I’d choose ____________, because ____________.
  9. When I retire, I want to be known for ____________, because ____________.

Here are my answers

  1. If I could choose one friend to trade jobs with, I’d choose Andrew, because he works in a creative environment at a cool company.
  2. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to do fashion blogging. It’s interesting to me because it’s fast paced, always new and exciting, glamorous.
  3. If I had the right education or skill set, I’d definitely try event planning, because it looks like an exciting creative job (and I not-so-secretly LOVE weddings).
  4. If I had to go back to school tomorrow, I’d major in business, because I want to have my own company/brand.
  5. My co-workers and friends always say I’m great at finding new tools/shortcuts, because I like to work efficiently.
  6. The thing I love most about my current job is the people and travel, because I love to meet new people and to travel to new cities.
  7. If my boss would let me, I’d do more to automate our processes, because we could be more efficient/helpful to our volunteers.
  8. If I had a free Saturday that had to be spent “working” on something, I’d choose networking, because learning what other people do it a great way to learn more about what you’re interested in.
  9. When I retire, I want to be known for making people happy, because that’s my greatest source of happiness.

I’ll admit that filling out the answers took me a while. I might even go back and change some of them in a few weeks. The important thing to notice when you’re all done is the themes in your answers. What do you value, what do you enjoy, and what do you want your legacy to look like.

Let me know what your answers look like! Did the questions help you?

Leave a Reply

