The Next 6 Months….Goals

As I mentioned in my last post, in the next 6 – 12 months I want to really focus on me and shaping my life to my vision of happy and success. Here are my (slightly) more specific goals.

Get Healthy

  • Get more sleep – this is by far my biggest health weakness. There are millions of reasons why sleep is good for you. I average 6 hours of sleep my whole life and if I get more than 9 I feel crappy the rest of the day, but lately I’ve barely been sleeping 5 hours a night. To meet this goal I’m going to develop a bed time routine and leave my iPad/laptop/iPhone in another room. Instead I will bring a good book and a notepad to capture all the thoughts that prevent me from going to sleep.
  • Make an exercise plan (and back up plan) – I don’t like going to the gym and I really don’t like running. I do like gym classes like Zumba, cardio/weight training classes, and non-conventional (read – non coordination requiring) sports.  I want to continue rock climbing and start boxing/kick boxing. I need to make exercising a priority and get some buddies to hold me accountable.

    Image

    Oh, did I mention the importance of relaxing?

  • Cook more – this hasn’t been a problem until very recently when I realized that I couldn’t really remember what I had been eating the past 2 weeks. I didn’t eat out a lot, and I don’t have junk food in my house – but I couldn’t remember if/what I cooked or ate. My goal is to cook more meals ahead of time and to buy ingredients that are fast, healthy, and easy to prepare.

Get Social

  • Make a social media plan – I want to learn more about social media tools so I can better apply them to my job, the volunteer work I do, and my personal brand. There are smart ways to use Facebook, twitter, and Google+. They can be used to promote the things I like and care about as well as my personal brand.

Get Smart

  • Do my best in Grad School– This one is pretty self-explanatory. I want to get good grades and take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way.
  • Spend time wisely – I have a confession: I’m better at making a schedule than committing to a schedule. (Shhh…. don’t tell anyone). With 3 jobs, working out, volunteering, and being a good friend/family member, I can’t afford to not stick to a schedule. There’s no reason I can’t do fun things and hang out/relax, I just need to make sure that I’m also getting everything else done as well and that’s where having a schedule comes in handy.

Get Thrifty

  • Stick to my budget  – I have a pretty good handle on my bills and my income. For some reason it seems that I either go months without spending a penny or I spend a ton of money in a single weekend. I need to pull the purse strings again and stick to my budget as far as eating out and shopping goes.
  • Create a separate savings account – Being thrifty will lead to my ultimate goal of creating a separate savings account for big ticket items that I really want.
  1. Zumba certification class
  2. Jenny Blake’s Make Sh*t happen course
  3. A ticket to World Domination Summit 2014
  4. Travel to Italy and Spain for a week each.

Get Creative

  • Write more -This blog needs some TLC for sure. I think all those 1/2 started stories in random notebooks could also use some love.
  • Find an artistic outlet – I’ve never been super crafty but I used paint-by-numbers (I’m cool – I know) and scrap-booking as a well to relax in high school. I see no reason to not start up again.
  • Redecorate my apartment – I spend an embarrassing amount of time on Pinterest and reading blogs by really creative and awesome people. I always feel inspired, but I never know where to start. In order to get more creative I’m going to redecorate my apartment. This also ties back to being thrifty since I need to redecorate on an almost non-existent budget. Thank goodness that the DIY gods founded pinterest and other cool sites like Brit and Co. and Olioboard to help get inspired and creative.
  • Read more – I have a bookshelf full of books I have not read. The end.

Get Giving

  • Make Friends – I think the biggest oversight for recent grads is how hard it is to make friends after college. I worked in a tech company for a while so I have a lot of amazing guy friends, but not a lot of girlfriends. It’s a little awkward to make friends, but I’m embracing it and trying to be creative with ways to meet people.
  • Be a good friend – My mom always reminds me that sometimes people don’t need advice. I should know this since sometimes I just want to rant and I get mad when people try to ‘fix’ my problem – yet, to my friends I’m often that person. I’m going to work on being a better listener instead of always trying to give advice.
  • Re-commit to ACS – volunteering for the American Cancer Society has been a HUGE part of my life for 5 years now. I joined a new event this year which is being held in Sept and it’s throwing off my usual level of involvement. I miss it. I miss the community and the creative process that comes along with planning a Relay For Life. I already scheduled a meeting with my ACS rep so I’ll be back on track soon. (Amazing article on why giving is the secret of getting ahead – this guy is one of my heroes! I love this)

Wow, that seems like a lot. To sum it up, right now I feel like an octopus with each leg spazzing out in a different direction. These goals are intended to get each leg under control and all the legs moving and working together to swim along to a happier, healthier Chelsey. Does that make sense? (Why do these metaphors always sound better in my head?).

So that’s the plan and I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Leave a Reply

