A Mid-Year Review

Today was a good day! I was busy at work planning events and strategizing for the rest of the year (I love to strategize!). I went for a 1.5 mile run and worked-out during lunch, and rocked the quiz in class. Not too bad.

Following yesterday’s post I want to stay on track for being motivated (or at least pretending to be) and complete a mid-year review. We are half-way through 2013 and there have been some pretty significant changes in my life so far. I’m using a 3 step method from Nicole Antionette at A Life Less Bullshit. The steps were part of her email newsletter but her blog has some amazing resources for setting (and sticking) to goals.

Step One – Create a January – June “Eff Yeah” list 

This is a list of everything (big and little) that I’ve accomplished so far this year, everything I’m proud of, and ‘everything you need to remind yourself to feel good about when you’re all, “I’m not doing anything with my life oh my goddddd.”‘

I had to revert to my Google Calendar, but here is what I came up with:

February

  • Started a new Job at Union College
  • Kept my old job on a part-time basis

March

  • Watched my little brother march in the St. Patrick’s Day parade in NYC. Bonded with my family over the miserable weather.
Keeping Busy!

Keeping Busy!

April

  • Got a job as a freelance writer
  • Started classes for my MBA
  • Started work-out classes (aka working out regularly)
  • Visited with sister and old friends

May

  • Hosted Sip Into Summer Fundraiser for the American Cancer Society HopeClub, as co-chair of the event. Most successful year of the event!
  • Volunteered at Gala of Hope ACS event
  • Watched my sister graduate from college
  • Worked at ReUnion weekend and met the amazing volunteers and alumni.

June

  • Finished my first term of grad school with a 3.85
  • Almost mastered a new morning routine that includes making a to-go breakfast sandwich, smoothie, and latte!
  • Started summer classes
  • Visited my sister in DC at her awesome new job!
  • Started planning a kick-ass year at work with new responsibilities and new programs.
  • Continued working out during lunch

Not too bad. It looks like the beginning of the year was a bit slow but the changes that I made were big ones. And I think overall I’m happier now than where I was six months ago.

Step 2 – Identify your top 3 pride moments

My big pride moments were: getting a new job(s), starting grad school, and visiting my sister in DC.

I’m so much happier now. I’m so lucky to have two remote part-time jobs. I LOVE the freedom (and extra money). I am very proud of myself for proving my worth at my old job so that I could stay on part-time, and for having my writing earn me a freelance gig. Changing careers was a risky move for many reasons but now I’m in a field I enjoy, working with amazing people everyday, and I’m only starting to see the true potential of what I could do there.

Starting grad school was also scary. I’d been out of college for a little while and didn’t know anyone else in the program. I was afraid that it was going to be too hard or I wouldn’t have time for all the work. I was able to take 2 classes while maintaining my usual work load, did really well in both classes, and made some pretty cool friends. Now, to be honest – I’m technically non-matriculated. But I signed up today to take the GRE at the end of August!

My sister is one of the most amazing people I know. She is such a hard-working, dedicated, funny, passionate, and beautiful person on the inside and out. We are sooo different, but we balance each other out in a really cool way. Colby graduated at the top of her class, got her dream job as a reporter on technology in the federal government at a crazy cool start up in DC. She left the nest to follow her dreams and she is kicking ass and taking names. Visiting her in DC showed me how resourceful and smart she is (even though it’s not always obvious to her family). Keep your eye out for her because I know she’s going to be famous someday! Go Colby!

Step 3 – Pick your upcoming priority

Nicole suggests you put one thing as your number one priority and that thing shouldn’t be “life balance”, it should be specific. I think I’m going to rebel here for a minute because my upcoming number one priority is going to be ME.

I know that’s general, but I need to focus on my health, dreams, and goals. I need to spend time soul searching about what I really want for my life without asking for tips from everyone else. What do I want my life to look like? Where do I want to be? Who do I want to be with?

Have you done your mid-year review?

Leave a Reply

