Motivation…or lack of

So I write these posts in my head all day, even though I sit at a computer and could very quickly and very easily type them up and post them. I can’t figure out what’s stopping me. I have lists of ideas that I want to write about, even a content schedule of sorts, but I still can’t find the motivation to post on a regular basis.

I’ve never had good stick-to-it-tivness. I would never use the word determined to describe myself and that bothers me. Don’t get me wrong – I can commit. I commit to every relationship I’m in, getting through (and doing well in) school, and my job(s). All those commitments have someone else at stake. Someone else that holds me accountable for getting things done and doing them the best I can. But when it comes to the commitments I make to myself, I can’t stick to it.

The past week or two I’ve been trying to figure out what motivates me. I’ve tried a few different things, but I find that the only thing that really forces me to buckle down and do work are social commitments and relationships. I love hanging out with my friends, meeting new people, and taking advantage of all the fun events going on in my area (especially during the summer). I will work with pure focus to get my homework, or a freelance assignment done if I know that I get to hang out with people afterwards.

But when it’s just me, or what I’m working only affects me (like working out, eating well, blogging, writing, any type of athletic hobby, sleeping, etc.) I can’t seem to stick to it.

happy

I watched lots of videos and read lots of blog posts about how to get motivated. You can use money, you can tell everyone to hold you accountable,  you can tell one person to hold you accountable, you can promise yourself a reward for reaching a milestone… there are many ways to self-motivate.

As usual Marie Forleo (first link) read my mind and had the perfect video that talked about not waiting for motivation to do the thing you want to do. I’m going to try my best to just start doing the things I want to do. I know it’s a little late but I think I’m due for a mid-year review.

Leave a Reply

