Decision Time

For some reason I feel like all the big decisions that I have to make pile on at the same time. Right now I’m – recently single, coming to the end of my first term of grad school, and offered the opportunity to move to a new town. These are all the questions in my head right now, in no particular order.

How am I going to meet people?

Should I try online?

All the logistics that comes with going out on dates

What do I want right now? (fun, relationship, just dates)

Why am I in grad school/getting my MBA?

Do I want to stick with this?

GREs vs. GMATs

What if I get bad grades?

How am I going to balance it all?

Should I move to a new town with this guy friend?

Will it be weird?

Do I want to bother moving?

What about my Independence?

How will I see my friends? How do I make more (girl) friends?

And that doesn’t even go into the complexities of my job(s) and other relationships. Basically, I’m at a point where i need to reevaluate my life. Sometimes things change (I moved into my own apartment, took a new job) and sometimes they don’t, but either way I think it’s important to slow down and evaluate where I’m going every now and then.

Here are a few things that I know for sure:

  • I like working 3 jobs and going to school. I t keeps me motivated to stay organized, keep things prioritized, and I love being busy.
  • As much as I love the idea of redecorating my apartment and the city I live in, I’m 100% OK with moving into a nicer/safer place in a new town – even if I have a roommate.
  • Even if I don’t know what to do with my MBA, it’s a benefit of my job and it’s not going to hurt me. I’m hoping that it will give me the experience and connections I need for whatever comes next.

Knowing myself, nothing will change for a little while. I’ll talk about it a lot, drive my friends and family crazy and then things will settle down and I’ll see where they land.

I just keep reminding myself that this is all part of the post college dream.

Leave a Reply

