Welcome to the Post- College Dream

Post college life isn’t all its cracked up to be huh? We think it’s going to be working 9-5 at a job we love, making more than enough money. Weeknights would be spent at happy hours with cool friends that have jobs with perks they can share (Devil wears Prada anyone?). Weekend night would be spent acting like you never left college and weekend days would be spent catching up on your favorite TV shows in  your cute apartment.

In reality, it’s more like working 8-6 at a job you tolerate, making barely enough to be by after loan payments and bills. Weeknights are spent looking for a job you actually want to do and weekends are spent home (like parent’s house) because you used up your ‘entertainment budget Tuesday or at your second job so you can afford to not have time to go out.

But don’t lose hope! You’re not alone.

Everyone has a story and different circumstances that got them to their post-college life, but we are all in it together.

The purpose of this blog is to make you smile, maybe laugh, at the situations and challenges we are all going through. It will also provide some tips and tricks for the many challenges we face from  working in a cubicle to working (period), grad school, budgeting, friends, and relationships.

I’ll be honest and say that I’m scared of what’s ahead. I’m afraid I’m going to run out of money, or lose my job, or end up alone. I have irrational fears of choking while I’m home alone or having someone break in. But my biggest fear is not making it. To me, this move starts a new chapter in my life. It means I need to be self-sufficient, frugal, determined, and reliable to my family and friends as I discover my dreams.

Leave a Reply

